The Truth About Gluten Free Foods And Celiac Disease

gluten free foods

If you’ve recently been diagnosed with coeliac disease or have plans of going on a gluten-free diet, it’s important to know what foods are available and which aren’t. While most coeliac disease diets restrict certain foods from being consumed, the truth is that a wide variety of foods containing gluten can be found in a lot of places so you don’t have to totally deprive yourself. The main thing to remember when following a gluten-free diet is to make sure you read labels carefully and check what ingredients are included on the label.

Gluten-free Bread

Gluten food

There are three main categories of gluten free foods. These include: Gluten-free bread, muffins, and other products that contain wheat, rye or barley flour as an ingredient. The most commonly used ingredient in these products are wheat or barley flour, although these ingredients can also come from other sources. It should be noted that gluten free bread can be made by a number of different recipes, rather than being simply a product that contains wheat.

While this may sound good in theory, there are a few things that you should keep in mind when looking for gluten-free products. First, it’s important to remember that most gluten free diets contain foods that are highly processed or highly refined. Many people mistakenly think that they are eliminating gluten when they are really just reducing some carbs, sugar or other high quality carbohydrates. As a result, many people find that their blood glucose levels remain elevated well after they have completed their gluten-free diet.

Lack Of Enough Nutrients

Gluten food

In addition, many people who follow a gluten free diet do not receive enough nutrients. This can be especially problematic for people with coeliac disease, whose body does not process gluten very well at all. This means that people who follow this type of diet often feel depleted and as if they are not getting enough nutrients. The only way to compensate for this is through the use of special supplements. While these supplements may provide some extra nutrition, they are certainly no replacement for having a healthy balanced diet that includes lots of fruits, vegetables and other foods that are high in vitamins, minerals and other nutrients that your body needs.

Most Common Questions About A Gluten-free Diet

One of the most common questions about a gluten-free diet concerns what you can and cannot eat. The short answer is that you can eat pretty much anything that does not contain gluten. For example, this means that you can eat plenty of fresh fruits and vegetables, brown rice, whole wheat pasta and other products that are typically found on a gluten free bread line or within a gluten free pantry. However, this also means that you are going to need to be more careful about which products you choose to cook with. For example, it would be preferable to boil foods such as cauliflower instead of boiling them in water or using a microwave.


Many people who suffer from gluten intolerance have a hard time trying to follow a gluten free diet. Fortunately, it is possible to live a happy, healthy lifestyle even while adhering to a gluten free diet. Gluten free foods provide a way to improve the health of individuals who suffer from coeliac disease without having to give up everything that they enjoy doing.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter