Rice: Should You Eat It If You Have A Gluten Allergy


Is Rice Gluten-Free Or Gluten-Rich?

You can find gluten not only in wheat, barley or rye, but also in various other grains and cereals. People may consume gluten-free food products in order to lead a healthy lifestyle. On the other hand, some persons who have gluten intolerance/ sensitivity have to consume gluten-free food for their medical condition. Gluten is a much-hyped topic in the market in these recent times. Furthermore, there are various contradictory statements. Some people believe that gluten is a health-damaging element that must not be consumed. On the other hand, they consider that gluten is only harmful to those who are intolerant or sensitive to it.

Is Rice Gluten-Free Or Gluten-Rich?
Is Rice Gluten-Free Or Gluten-Rich?

Is Rice Gluten-Free Yes Or No?

Rice is a common grain among all other ones that we know. The question that arises is whether it is gluten-free or not. This one is absolutely gluten-free, no matter its type. Moreover, all kinds of this grain such as white, brown rice, etc. are naturally gluten-free. When we boil rice, we see that it has a sticky and glutinous nature to it. Rice doesn’t contain the sticky element of gluten that you see in wheat, barley, rye, etc.

You can use rice as an alternative for gluten-free food products instead of the aforementioned ingredients. Though it is gluten-free in its natural state, its derivatives or products may or may not be gluten-free. If you are concerned whether the rice you consume is gluten-free or not, then read the packet label properly. This label will have the list of ingredients used to process the product. Therefore, when you read that it contains gluten, avoid purchasing it.

Is Rice Gluten-Free Or Gluten-Rich?
Is Rice Gluten-Free Or Gluten-Rich?

Contamination Problems

Companies purchase rice in its natural form from local farmers in bulk. When farmers harvest their rice fields, there is often a chance that they be contaminated by gluten-rich elements such as wheat, barley, rye, etc. You can find several reasons to be the cause of it. For example, the harvesting fields may be close to each other. Therefore, the rice packages are loaded in the same vehicle as the one that carries wheat, barley, rye, etc.

In fact, when rice is processed in factories, it may get contaminated by the aforementioned elements. Furthermore, if a household has even one person who suffers from gluten sensitivity, it becomes a problem. They need to cook gluten-free rice in a separate utensil and then serve it. Otherwise, using the same utensils will result in contamination of the cooked gluten-free rice.

Different Products

There are a lot of varieties of rice out there in the market. Processing of such kinds of rice in factories is different. Various ready made rice products are available in the market, which may or may not contain gluten. People who suffer from celiac disease or gluten sensitivity/intolerance, should be careful about what kind of rice products they buy.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter