Gluten-Free Grain – What Are the Benefits Of Wheat-Free Food?


Gluten-Free Grain - What Are the Benefits Of Wheat-Free Food?

A strain of wheat developed in the mid-1980s was named gluten-free grain. This trait allowed for gluten to be added to the grain, making it a large part of the modern wheat industry. Since then, grain products like flour, bread, cakes, and cookies have all been made with wheat and corn gluten that contain gluten.

Gluten-Free Grain - What Are the Benefits Of Wheat-Free Food?
Gluten-Free Grain – What Are the Benefits Of Wheat-Free Food?

Gluten is a protein derived from wheat. Wheat and corn (corn gluten) are both naturally occurring in wheat. These two grains make up the main ingredient of most wheat products, including flour, bread, cakes, pastries, and ice cream. While gluten-free products exist, gluten-containing grain products are still widely available and found in a variety of food products.

Gluten-Free Grain

Non-celiac wheat intolerance means you may have symptoms that include abdominal discomfort, bloating, gas, abdominal pain, bloating, diarrhea, constipation, heartburn, and flatulence. Non-celiac wheat intolerance also can result in chronic fatigue and other irritable mood and behavioral changes. Symptoms can also cause low self-esteem and depression and can last for months or even years. It is not necessary to seek a medical diagnosis to suffer from these symptoms.

Many people with chronic fatigue and depression have wheat allergies. A lot of people in this category are allergic to gluten. Wheat allergy symptoms include skin rashes, nose bleeds, sneezing, dry, runny nose, watering eyes, and general fatigue. Some may notice no symptoms at all. People who suffer from seasonal allergies may suffer more and develop chronic fatigue and depression.

Grain

A person with celiac disease has a problem with the small intestine and may develop symptoms of malnutrition. Celiac disease is one of the most common dietary allergies and does not respond well to medication.

With celiac disease, the immune system tries to defend the small intestine from the gluten proteins. In some cases, the body will produce antibodies to destroy the “bad” gluten proteins. In these people, the antibodies create an abnormal amount of mucus.

Know More: Gluten-Free Grain

Gluten-free grains can be made from non-wheat grains. However, they do not contain wheat and most contain some amount of the grain. Although some manufacturers sell flour that contains gluten and is labeled as “all-natural,” gluten cannot be properly absorbed into the body through food.

Rye is also called bran, buckwheat, quinoa, and goosepea. It is grown primarily in New Zealand and Australia. It is important to note that these grains are not a wheat substitute, but are included for their unique “seed” structure and protein content.

Gluten-Free Grain - What Are the Benefits Of Wheat-Free Food?
Gluten-Free Grain – What Are the Benefits Of Wheat-Free Food?

Bottom Line

Grains that are whole wheat are those with the bran layer intact. Because of the layers of the grain, which is not white, some may have an off-white color to them. Whole wheat is often called an “ageless” grain. Though it is not true to say that whole wheat is completely gluten-free, it is likely that it can be a part of a gluten-free diet.

Wheatless foods that are made from gluten-free grains are available in stores, as well as online. There are many options to choose from when it comes to making wheat-free food choices.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter