Gluten-Free Foods You Can Eat With Celiac


Gluten is a form of protein found primarily in rye, barley, and wheat.  Some people face adverse effects from gluten and therefore prefer gluten-free foods. Therefore, if you are serious about consuming gluten-free diets, check the ingredients before purchasing food products. In this article, you will learn about some of them that do not include gluten.

Whole Grains

Gluten Free foods to avoid certain diseases
Gluten Free foods to avoid certain diseases

There are more than 11 types of whole grains that are gluten-free. They result in good health and fulfill the entire protein requirement for a human body. Therefore, when buying whole grains, check the ingredients column twice before you add it to your bucket. The eleven types of whole grains are:

  • Brown rice
  • Wild rice
  • Quinoa
  • Tapioca
  • Buckwheat
  • Millet
  • Sorghum
  • Teff
  • Amaranth
  • Arrowroot
  • Oats

These are some of the healthy whole grains that you can add to the list of gluten-free foods. There are some grains that you must avoid at all cost if you are sensitive to gluten. These grains include Rye, Triticale, Barley, and all types of wheat. Moreover, they are especially used to make pasta, bread, or baked goods.

Vegetables and Fruits

Most of the vegetables and fruits available are gluten-free foods. Processed fruits or vegetables may contain gluten. Some of the gluten-free fruits are Oranges, Apples, Bananas, Berries, Pears, and Peaches. Gluten-free vegetables are cauliflower, broccoli, spinach, Swiss chard, potatoes, corn, onions, radishes, beans, and bell peppers. Furthermore, you must check for the processed foods such as canned vegetables or fruits that might contain gluten ingredients. Frozen fruits may also contain gluten flavorings.

Proteins Are Gluten Free Foods

Many protein-rich foods include animal meat and also plant sources. Most of them are gluten-free foods. However, some foods can include flour, vinegar, and soy sauce for flavorings, which contain gluten ingredients. Some of the protein-rich food items are:

  • Legumes
  • Red Meat
  • Nuts
  • Seeds
  • Seafood
  • Poultry
  • Soy foods

Dairy Products

Gluten Free foods to avoid certain diseases
Gluten Free menus to avoid certain diseases

Almost all dairy products are gluten-free. However, when added with flavors, they may contain gluten ingredients. Gluten ingredients include food starch, malt, and thickeners. Here are some of the dairy products that you can add to the list of gluten-free foods:

  • Milk
  • Cheese
  • Butter
  • Ghee
  • Sour Cream
  • Yogurt
  • Cream

When you purchase flavored yogurts and milk, check for the ingredients column for gluten-free certification.

Oils and Fats

All oils and fats are gluten-free, until some gluten contents are added. This is mostly done to give thickening or flavor. Some of the Gluten-free oils and fats are:

  • Ghee and Butter
  • Avocados and its oil
  • Olives and its oil
  • Coconut oil
  • Seeds and Vegetable oil

These are some of the ingredients that you can add to gluten-free foods. Therefore, if you wish to avoid gluten, then you can cook food using these ingredients for a healthy life. You also need to remember one thing while purchasing a product. It’s absolutely necessary to check the ingredient column and be aware of the package contents.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter