A gluten-free diet is one in which you exclude the consumption of foods that contain protein gluten along with wheat, barley, and rye. Several studies have been undertaken on people having celiac disease and those who have gluten sensitivity. The studies were carried out to see the effect of gluten on such people. If you are among that segment of intolerant people to gluten, you have to avoid gluten consumption in your daily diet. If you don’t stop consuming gluten, get ready to bear some discomfort with adverse health effects. Below, you will be able to study the gluten-free diet menu to keep your health and yourself just perfectly fine.
Gluten And Why It Is Harmful To Some People
Gluten is a protein family that is found easily in wheat, barley, spelled, and rye. Gluten comes from the Latin word ‘glue’ as it mainly provides the flour a sticky consistency when mixed with water. This gluten property helps create a sticky network that provides the bread the capacity to rise when it is baked. Also, it offers the bread some chewy along with satisfying texture. But unfortunately, many people feel uncomfortable after consuming foods that contain gluten. The most common gluten reaction is celiac disease. Celiac disease being an autoimmune disorder where the body mistakenly harms itself. This disease is known to damage the intestine and also is affecting 1% of the population.
Some Common Methods Of Getting Celiac Disease Known Are
- A blood test helps in looking for antibodies that incorrectly come in contact with the protein gluten. The common test to identify celiac disease through a blood test is tTG-IgA.
- People having a positive blood test report will be asked to have a biopsy where a small tissue sample is taken from the patient’s intestine and is then later checked for damage.
Avoid These Foods If You Are Gluten Sensitive – Gluten-Free Diet Menu
It is quite challenging to avoid the consumption of gluten completely. It is mainly because gluten is found in several common ingredients used in most foods. The main gluten sources are wheat-based foods like wheat bran, spelled, wheat flour, durum, semolina, Kamut, barley, triticale, malt, brewer’s yeast, rye, etc.
Below listed are some of the foods that have ingredients consisting of gluten in them:
- All wheat-based bread
- All wheat-based pasta
- Cereals unless labeled gluten-free
- Baked items like cookies, muffins, pizza, bread crumbs, pastries, and pizza.
- Snacks like muesli bars, candy, crackers, pre-packed convenience foods, flavored chips, popcorn, pretzels, etc.
- Sauces like soy sauce, hoisin sauce, marinades, salad dressings.
- Beverages like beer and other flavored drinks.
The best method to avoid the consumption of gluten substances is by eating unprocessed single-ingredient foods. Otherwise, you must read the food labels before you buy any food item. Oats naturally exist in gluten-free mode. Although sometimes they are contaminated with gluten, they are sometimes processed in the same factory as wheat-based foods.
There is no specific gluten-free diet menu, but you can keep your health healthy by knowing the foods to avoid.