For many people, oats is a favorable breakfast among other healthy options. A lot of persons still wonder about oats. Is it healthier than other cereals? The main concern that arises amidst people is “Are Oats Gluten-Free?” Certain persons blindly do not eat oats as they think it contains gluten. Furthermore, they believe that consumption of gluten will lead to digestive problems. It can bring about headaches, concentration problems, and other paraphernalia as well. In this article, we shall bust the myth behind it.
We know that wheat, barley, and rye are major gluten-laden products. However, oats is a species of cereal grain that do not have the elements mentioned above. Oats contain avenin, which is beneficial for the human body. It helps to provide stamina.
What Are Oats?
Oat is a plant named Avena Sativa which is grown for its seeds. Hence, it naturally does not contain gluten. Furthermore, a person affected by wheat allergy or gluten sensitivity can consume it. It’s important to examine the oat packet contents during purchase. Gluten-free products have such certifications labeled on them. Therefore, when people cannot find any gluten content printed on the labels, they then must check for the certification.
As mentioned above, oats are gluten-free. Manufacturers purchase it in bulk. The manufacturing plants then process these natural oats. During this process, they are washed, filtered of unwanted particles, and added with different flavors. Therefore, this procedure might result in the addition of gluten ingredients in the oats.
Are Oats Gluten-Free Or Gluten-Rich? How Do You Know?
Markets can generally buy oats in bulk. Therefore, we cannot completely certify that they are totally gluten-free unless we see a print on it. In fact, during this process, cereal grains like wheat, barley, etc. may be added. We must receive a guaranty from the manufacturer that there is no addition of these elements in the production process. People should be aware before buying oats, as it may contain gluten. This can cause digestive problems, headaches, etc. Gluten-free oats naturally grow in fields used for this purpose only. . Otherwise, there might be a risk of contaminating the oats with gluten.
Since it is difficult to ensure whether oats are gluten-free, we have to conduct tests. Therefore, the producers send samples to the manufacturing companies. They do this before oats is almost fully grown. These companies then run tests on these grown oats. They check whether they came near the presence of gluten. If the test gives a negative result, they are forwarded to the gluten-free production assembly line. However, if the test is positive, then they have to be processed forward to the regular oats production assembly line. You should keep this in mind before buying oats.